Mototcycle Hall of Fame






Oct. 11, 2016

Media contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, ext. 1280

Click here to download photos of Perry King and Laurette Nicoll, as well as the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2016:

Perry King returns as master of ceremonies for 2016 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Husqvarna

Motorsports announcer Laurette Nicoll will serve as host

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — Perry King, lifelong motorcyclist and well-known Hollywood actor, will be the master of ceremonies for the 2016 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Husqvarna, on Thursday, Oct. 13, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla., during the American International Motorcycle Expo.

King will be joined by well-known motorsports announcer Laurette Nicoll, who will open the evening and conduct live interviews.

“I’m thrilled to once again help the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame honor a new class of motorcycling’s best and brightest,” King said. “The induction ceremony is a powerful event for anyone who loves to ride, and I’m looking forward to another unforgettable evening, this has become my favorite night of the year. I encourage everyone in Orlando at the expo to join us as we celebrate motorcycling’s heritage.”

Added Nicoll: “People and their stories are what bring us together, engage us and strengthen the personal connections that make motorcycling so much more than a sport or pastime. Motorcycling is such a large part of my life, and I’m looking forward to sharing this evening with all of you.”

The Class of 2016 includes eight new members of the Hall of Fame. They are road racing champion Miguel Duhamel, motorcycle designer and engineer Charles Franklin, racer and tuner Chris Haines, engine builder Dennis Mahan, race frame builder Jeff Cole, desert racer Jack Johnson, motorcycling pioneer Gloria Tramontin-Struck and dirt track racer Ronnie Jones.

Dick Burleson will be recognized as an AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legend. Selected from existing Hall of Famers, Legends’ accomplishments transcend their categories in impactful ways. In addition to Burleson, AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legends include Mark Blackwell, “Willie G.” Davidson, Roger DeCoster, Torsten Hallman, Bob Hannah, Mert Lawwill, Wayne Rainey, Kenny Roberts and Malcolm Smith.

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame is funded through efforts of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization. Sponsoring the event supports the inductees, honors their achievements, recognizes the influence of their accomplishments and celebrates motorcycling’s history in America. To learn about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Steve Gotoski at (951) 491-1910 or

About the American Motorcyclist Association
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today: